Lawang Sewu become one place or the building that most talked about in Semarang, Indonesia. Not because of the unique name, but also sometimes associate with the mystical.
Whatever it is, Lawang Sewu is a historic building, It has been become operational offices of government agencies, and now become one of the favorite tourist destinations in Semarang, Indonesia.
Lawang Sewu is a building in Semarang, Central Java, Indonesia, which was the office of the Nederlands-Indische Spoorweg Maatschappijatau NIS. Built in 1904 and completed in 1907. Located at the roundabout Tugu Muda, formerly called Wilhelminaplein.
Lawang Sewu was designed by C. Citroen, from the firm of J.F. Klinkhamer and B.J. Quendag. Construction began in 1904 with A building, which was completed in 1907. The rest of the complex was finished in 1919. It was initially used by the Nederlandsch Indische Spoorweg Maatschappij, the national railway of the Dutch East Indies.
The name Lawang Sewu is from Javanese; it means "Thousand Doors". The name comes from its design, with numerous doors and arcs. The building has about 600 large windows.
Lawang Sewu is loaded with historical events leading up to independence of Indonesia from Dutch colonial. When that happens the great battle in Semarang five days (October 14 to October 19 1945). This building was a silent witness to a great battle between the Young Generation Train (AMKA) against Kempeitai and Kidobutai, troops of the Japanese invaders.
After the independence of the Republic of Indonesia, Lawang Sewu building used as an office Djawatan Repoeblik Indonesian Railways (DKARI) or now known as PT. Kereta Api Indonesia (KAI). Furthermore, once used by the military as the office of Infrastructure Agency Regional Military Command (military command IV / Diponegoro).
Lawang Sewu is said to be haunted, with many tourists visiting to see the ghosts. Among the ghosts reported to inhabit the establishment are a Dutchwoman who committed suicide inside and "headless ghouls”.